ICALEPCS 2015October 17 - 23, 2015 Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre



The 15th International Conference on Accelerator and Large Experimental Control Systems (ICALEPCS 2015) conference was held in Melbourne, Australia at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre (MCEC). It was jointly hosted by the Australian Synchrotron (AS) and Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (ANSTO). The conference was endorsed by the European Physics Society/Experimental Physics Control Systems (EPS/EPCS), The Physical Society of Japan (JPS) and the American Physical Society (APS). The technical program and local organisation was advised by two committees made up of members from three international regions. The International Scientific Advisory Committee (ISAC) with 34 members met together once before the conference to establish the themes and again during the conference to review bids and conclude on hosting ICALEPCS 2019, which will be held in New York (USA) jointly hosted by C-A Department (RHIC) and NSLSII, the ISAC was chaired by Roland Muller of HZB. The Program Committee (PC) with 36 members met together once before the conference to finalise the scientific program and was chaired by Nick Hauser of ANSTO. Both committees worked constructively to encourage participation from experts around the world with a number of new institutes participating which improved the level of diversification of the conference. Parallel sessions were limited to one day so as to encourage overall participation at the main plenary session.

ICALEPCS 2015 had an excellent attendance of 387 registered participants of which there were 360 delegates. The regional distribution of delegates was 29% for Asia and Oceana, 53% for Europe, Middle East and Africa, and 18% for North and South America.

A total of 405 abstracts were submitted of which 128 were awarded as oral talks which included keynotes and mini orals. The keynotes were represented by experts outside the ICALEPCS community and the mini orals provided speakers three minutes to present their poster of which there were 277.  For the first time at ICALEPCS the program was accessible via a mobile APP which was downloaded 177 times.  

There were over 400 people that attended the pre-conference workshops held on both Saturday and Sunday. The workshop topics were: EPICS Satellite Meeting, TANGO, Timing, Motion Controls Applications in Large Facilities, HDF5 plus a tutorial, Free Software for Hardware and Cyber Security.

The EPCS award along with prize money was presented to Ms Prachi Chitnis for her significant contribution to the reliability of the RHIC beam permit system.

I would like to thank everyone involved for their commitment, support and contribution which made this conference such a memorable and successful event.

Planning this conference involved a journey that lasted just over 4 years filled with hard work, emotion and many challenges that were all overcome by working collaboratively together.

I would like to wish David Fernandez and the team at ALBA all the best for 2017 along with the team in New York for 2019.      

Conference Chair
Mr Lou Corvetti
Australian Synchrotron

ICALEPCS 2015 Group Photo

Technical Supporters

JPS Eps Epcs  IICA logo2011 APSLogo 2colorweb